Primary Voter Guide: Harris County

Primary Day is Tuesday, March 1, 2016. Voting locations are open from 7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. Find your voting location here. Print this guide and take it with you to the voting booth.


The Houston Stonewall Young Democrats proudly support the following pro-equality candidates in the March 1, Democratic Primary. Endorsed candidates participated in the HSYD screening and endorsement process and earned the endorsement of the membership.

Harris County Sheriff Hon. Ed Gonzalez

Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector Brandon Dudley

Harris County District Attorney Kim Ogg

State Representative District 126 Joy Dawson 
State Representative District 131 Hon. Alma Allen
State Representative District 134 Ben Rose
State Representative District 137 Hon. Gene Wu
State Representative District 139 Randy Bates
State Representative District 144 Hon. Cody Ray Wheeler
State Representative District 148 Hon. Jessica Farrar

Constable, Precinct No. 1 Hon. Alan Rosen
Constable, Precinct No. 3 Ken Melancon
Constable, Precinct No. 4 Jeff McGowen
Constable, Precinct No. 6 Hon. Heliodoro Martinez Jr.
Constable, Precinct No. 7 Hon. May Walker

District Judge, 11th Judicial District Rabeea Collier
District Judge, 61st Judicial District Julie Countiss
District Judge, 129th Judicial District Hon. Michael Gomez
District Judge, 151st Judicial District Hon. Mike Engelhart
District Judge, 164th Judicial District Hon. Alexandra Smoots-Hogan
District Judge, 165th Judicial District Hon. Josefina Rendon
District Judge, 174th Judicial District Hon. Raul Rodriguez
District Judge, 176th Judicial District Hon. Shawna Reagin
District Judge, 179th Judicial District Hon. Randy Roll
District Judge, 177th Judicial District David Singer
District Judge, 215th Judicial District Joshua Verde
District Judge, 333rd Judicial District Daryl Moore
District Judge, 334th Judicial District Hon. Steve Kirkland
District Judge, 337th Judicial District Hon. Herb Ritchie
District Judge, 351st Judicial District Greg Glass

Judge, County Civil Court at Law No. 1 George Barnstone

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 1 Tanya Makany-Rivera
Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 3, Place 1 Joe Stephens
Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 5, Place 1 William McLeod
Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 6, Place 1 Hon. Richard Vara
Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 7, Place 1 Cheryl Elliott Thornton

Justice, 14th Court of Appeals District, Place 2 Hon. Jim Sharp

County School Trustee Position 2, Precinct 4 Marilyn Burgess

State Board of Education, District 6 Dakota Carter

**All candidates in the Democratic Primary were invited to screen, however only those in contested races were urged to screen before the primary. Democratic candidates interested in receiving the endorsement of HSYD before the general election are encouraged to email HSYD Vice President Russell Etherton at

For all other inquiries please contact HSYD President James Lee at

Do you like this post?